Mother Nature

 

Pierre Bodo, who is from Congo, created this painting Femme Surchargée in 2005. He has several paintings that revolve around this image that he created that were painted in the same year and were given the same name. Bodo signs all of his work “Art Bodo” and revolves all his paintings around experiences, observations, and dreams. He is a major part of the Democratic Republic of Congo’s “popular painting” school where they believe art has to potential to alter the course of history.

I choose this paintings because to me when I see this painting I think of mother nature. How a lot of people think there is a god that plays this role and how she is in charge of nature. I like how he painted a body of a woman but then made her hair the extensions of nature. All different kinds of animals are sitting on her like they would a tree, but a lot of these animals wouldn’t be seen in the same area normally. I feel like he is bringing nature together in harmony and making her the center of it, like she is the one who brings peace.

I just liked the message that it sent and I liked the colors within the work. He really made the woman stand out with her different features and it caught my eye.

References

Blackboard

http://art.sy/artwork/pierre-bodo-femme-surchargee 

One thought on “Mother Nature

  1. I think Mother Nature is what brings the peace, that is why it is so sad to see it disappearing. Your interpretation of this painting is similar to what mine would be. Bodo brings together nature in a very appealing manner, while giving a motherly image that comes to mind when one thinks of Mother Nature. The translation of Femme Surchargee is “overloaded women”. I wonder what Bodo is trying to say with this title. All the info that was needed is in your post, good job.

Leave a comment